On this page, you will find a selection of the library's extensive materials. Roskilde University Library has many different physical collections that can be used on-site or borrowed for home use. As part of the Royal Danish Library, we also provide access to numerous other collections of physical and digital materials.
In the library, we have 11,000 shelf meters of “open shelves,” which means you can go and find the book yourself. We also have several materials in storage that you can order, and it is also possible to order physical materials from other collections of the Royal Danish Library.
A large part of the library’s books and journals are available digitally. Common to both e-books and digital journals is that they must be found via the library catalogue at soeg.kb.dk. The catalogue contains links to the publishers that have the materials. However, please note the following when using e-resources:
E-books
For some publishers (such as E-book Central), it is only possible to download a limited number of pages, while the rest must be read online on the website. Another option is to download the program Adobe Digital Editions, where you can download the file but only read it for a limited period.
E-Journals
For journal articles, you will often be able to download the articles if you remember to access them via soeg.kb.dk. Sometimes you will find that there are several different online access points for a single article.
We have collected the books on your course reading list in one convenient location. While we keep the shelf updated, we cannot guarantee that the collection is complete. If there are books missing from the shelf that are on your reading list, you are welcome to contact the library’s information desk or send a request to Ask the library, and we will make sure to find them.
These books are frequently used and therefore not available for home loan but can be used within the library. You can scan and copy from the books in the library’s print room. The shelf with course readings can be found on Level 1.
The reference collection consists of reference works, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more, which are useful for short but precise definitions or information about a given topic, concept, or technical term. The latest works in the reference collection can be found digitally via soeg.kb.dk. You just need to use the filter “reference entries.” You can also see a list of some of these reference works on our database list. We always recommend starting your search online.
On Level 1 of the library, you will find our physical reference collection. This collection contains several works that are not digitized but useful. For example, we have many legal works, that are not available online.
You have access to previously submitted theses, master’s theses, bachelor’s projects, and semester papers from Roskilde University and the University of Copenhagen. This only applies to the projects that the students have given permission to display.
Student projects from 2004 to the present are available online at soeg.kb.dk. You can specifically search for student projects here. On Level 0 of the library, you can find physical student projects dating back to the founding of RUC.
Most of the journals we offer access to can be found online via soeg.kb.dk. You can find them here or through one of the other databases you have access to as a student or faculty member at RUC.
The library’s physical collection of journals can be found on Level 0. The compact shelves contain journals from 1990-2004, while journals from 2005 to the present can be found on the R shelves next to them. Journals older than 1990 must be found on soeg.kb.dk and ordered.
The latest editions of the journals we receive physically are displayed on Level 1.
At Roskilde University Library, you can access both new and historical newspapers. We subscribe to 9 printed newspapers, and you can view historical newspapers both online and on microfilm. Read more about our newspapers here.
As a student or employee at Roskilde University, you can suggest a book, journal, or other information resource for us to purchase for the library on your behalf.
Log in with WAYF and fill out the form with the information you have, such as title, author, publisher, year, ISBN/ISSN.
"The round bookshelf" is where you can find our selection of fiction, cookbooks, comics, and CDs that you can borrow for a month. There are also board games that can be used in the library.
You have the opportunity to view new Ph.D. theses on the library’s level 1 before the defence. Afterwards, they will be included in the library’s general collection on open shelves.
