This step is about carrying out and documenting your actual searches and collecting the literature you want to include. Start by searching in relevant databases and note which search terms and strategies you use. Document your results carefully so you can refer back to them later. In addition, you can expand your search by using techniques such as backwards and forward chaining. For example, you can find relevant literature by going through the reference lists in the found articles or by seeing which articles cite the texts you have already found useful. This helps you discover important literature that you may have overlooked in your original search.
By following these methods, you ensure that your literature search is thorough and systematic:
Keyword searching is a method in literature searching where you start with your topic/problem field and search for relevant keywords that cover your topic.
Block searching or thematic searching is the same as keyword searching. Here, you divide your search words into different “blocks” based on related themes or concepts. By combining these search words and strings in various ways, you can ensure that you capture a broad range of relevant literature within your subject area.
The literature you find through your keyword search can then be further explored through chain searches and/or citation searches.
We have described keyword searching in step 1 regarding search words and strings. By using specific topics, keywords, and search strings, you can systematically find relevant studies and articles
Backwards chaining (also sometimes called chain searching) involves starting with a relevant article or book and then examining its reference list to find the sources that this article or book has cited. This can help identify previous research that has been fundamental or important for the topic you are researching. It is a method for “going backward” in research and uncovering background knowledge and earlier studies. Therefore, the literature you find using this method will likely be older.
You can use this method early in your literature search process if you already have some relevant literature—perhaps from your supervisor or your curriculum. Additionally, you can perform chain searches each time you discover new relevant literature.
Forward chaining (also called citation search) is the opposite of backwards chaining. Unlike backwards chaining where your search goes backward in time, with forward chaining, you move forward in time. In this method, you start with a specific article and identify which later publications have cited that article. This is useful for finding more recent research that builds upon or responds to the original article. It allows you to track the development of a research area over time.
To perform forward chaining, you should use a citation database (such as soeb.kb.dk, Scopus, or Web of Science) to find literature that has referenced (cited) the current article or book.
To keep track of where you have been searching, what you have searched for (including search words, search strings, filters, etc.), and the results of your searches, it is important to continuously keep a search log.
A search log is your and your group’s personal work tool and can be designed as you find it best. However, we recommend that it at least contains: date, database (search place), search string, filters, results, and notes.
This will save you and your group a lot of extra work, as everyone can keep track of what has been searched for, and avoid duplicate work. In addition, it becomes easier to write a reflective methodology section about your literature search.
Below you can see an example of how a search log can be designed.
| Date | Database/search place | Search string | Filter(s) | Results | Notes |
| 4/1-2024 | soeg.kb.dk | midwife* AND stress* | Books | 129 | This book was very relevant (especially chapter 5): link |
| 4/1-2024 | SCOPUS | midwife* AND stress* | peer-reviewed articles from 2015-2024 | 29.018 | Way too many results. Should probably use more search words. Maybe filter search to abstract |
| 5/1-2024 | SCOPUS | midwife* AND stress* AND "work life balance" AND |
peer-reviewed articles from 2015-2024 |
436 | Browsed the first 50 abstracts. A lot of relevant articles. Especially these: links |
We do not recommend using Google or Google Scholar to search for scientific literature. Instead, use the resources RUC provides (soeg.kb.dk and different databases)
Google and Google Scholar searches are quick and seemingly effective, but they should not be the only search systems in your literature search.
Searches with Google are influenced by algorithms and show personalized and ranked content, controlled among other things by your search history, use of social media, and geographical location.
Often, Google provides quick and personal searches, but can miss significant material and create bias in your search. In addition, much academic and peer-reviewed material is hidden behind paywalls - which you have access to via RUC’s databases.
You can download a work paper for your literature search. It can help you work strategically and structured with your literature search. The working paper is organized like the six step-model of literature search, as we describe in this libguide
How do you keep track of the literature you have found? Visit our libguide on referencing and get knowledge, tips, and tools that help you maintain an overview, keep track of your references, and create correct references according to your choice of reference system.
PRISMA, which is short for Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses, is a useful tool for carrying out and reporting literature searches and literature reviews in a structured and visual way. It helps you ensure clarity and transparency in your process. PRISMA consists of a checklist and a flow diagram, which guide you through the various steps in a literature search and reporting.
The flow diagram provides a visual representation of your literature search process. It shows how you identify, screen, and select studies, as well as which studies are excluded along the way.
The checklist covers points that cover all aspects of a systematic review, from planning and searching to analysis and reporting. By following the checklist, you ensure that you include all necessary details and answer the relevant questions about literature search and literature reviews.
By using PRISMA for your literature search and your literature review, you can systematize and visualize your process, which helps to ensure that your reporting is comprehensive and understandable. This makes it easier for others to follow your method and assess the quality of your research.