The library system is the main entry to Det Kgl. Library's physical and electronic materials. You will find articles, books, databases, journals, theses, images, manuscripts, music and much more.
You are searching in collections of material from the Kgl. Library, Aarhus University, IT University, University of Copenhagen, Roskilde University.
The library system also contains a large index of materials with online access from many different vendors and scientific publishers. It is also possible to search for and order material that will need to be ordered through interlibrary loans.
The library system can be a relevant way to start your information seeking, as it has broad, subject-specific coverage and has indexed most of what you have access to.
You can order books for pick up at Roskilde University Library or at another location, if this is closer to you.
Below we have gathered some tips for how to do effective searches on soeg.kb.dk.
1. Remember to log in with your RUC identity (via WAYF)
2. Find student projects for inspiration
4. "Lock" your filters while searching.
5. Use the advanced search functions.
Before you start searching it is important to log in with WAYF. This way, you will have full access to all the digital resources and the ability to order physical materials on soeg.kb.dk. You log in at the top right corner of the website.
You can find more information about logging in HERE
In the library catalogue, you can find student projects, meaning semester projects, bachelor's projects, master theses from RUC, but also from University of Copenhagen. You can filter for which kind of project and which university it should be from, and its also possible to search for supervisors and subjects.
They can serve as a help for areas such as structure, methodology and as a way to find relevant literature. But remember to be critical since they are written by students.
When you are doing searches in soeg.kb.dk, it can be useful to filter your search results by using the filters in the left side of the screen. This is a way to do more systematic searches. Some good filters to use could be:
See the image below for the location of the filters:
When you have added filters to your search results, you can make sure that they don't disappear when you do your next search. This can be done by clicking the lock-symbol to the left of your active filters.
On soeg.kb.dk, you also have the option to do an advanced search by clicking the link to the right of the search bar. This advanced search function is especially useful if you are looking for a specific author or title. It is also possible to search for keywords. Keywords can be useful for narrowing down your search, buy be aware that you may also filter out relevant literature that hasn't been assigned keywords.
In addition to soeg.kb.dk, it may be a good idea to search for articles in the databases that the library have access to. In the databases, you have more options to narrow down your search, making it more specific.
In the A-Z database list, you can search for databases by either subject area, field of study, or type. If you are unsure or working with an interdisciplinary topic, try one of the universal databases.
Reference articles are found in reference works, encyclopedias or handbooks and contains concise descriptions of terms, events, subject areas etc. They are shorter than research articles, because the aim is to give an introduction to the term, but they usually include a lot of useful references to other more detailed literature within the field. Use the filter "Reference entries" on the left in Resource types
You can find some of the the reference works available on our database list. Most of the reference works in the database list are research-based which means that you can reference them in your projects.
Below you can see an example of a reference article:
